Panthers Party remembers Rajiv Gandhi on his 24th Anniversary of Martyrdom

The Executive of Delhi Pradesh National Panthers Party in an emergency meeting paid homage to Shri Rajiv Gandhi who was assassinated 24 years ago on this day in Tamilnadu. The Panthers Party senior leaders also held a prayer meeting at NPP headquarters wishing peace in the heavens to the departed soul expressing shock on his assassination in young age.

While addressing the Panthers Party leaders, Prof.Bhim Singh, Chief Patron of National Panthers Party recollected the message he received on the evening of 20th May, 1991 where Shri Rajiv Gandhi invited Prof.Bhim Singh to accompany Mr. Rajiv Gandhi in the following week to Bihar for election campaign. Mr. Rajiv Gandhi told Bhim Singh that Dr. Farooq Abdullah shall also be accompanying them and he (Bhim Singh) should not mind that. Prof.Bhim Singh told his party activists that he agreed with Rajiv Gandhi to visit Bihar the following week. Prof.Bhim Singh said that it was unbelievable tragedy that Rajiv Gandhi was assassinated just the next day in Tamilnadu. In 1999, Prof.Bhim Singh with several Panthers Party leaders visited the site of the tragedy and paid homage to Rajiv Gandhi during his Rashtra Chetna Yatra from Kargil to Kanyakumari.

Prof.Bhim Singh expressed a grave disappointment on the failure of inquiry to investigate the circumstances that led to death of blossoming bud in the orchid of Indian politics.

He also told the party activists that the successive governments failed to hold investigations into the circumstances that led to his death as he (Rajiv Gandhi) was duly informed about a conspiracy to liquidate him. This was on record in a video interview with Yasir Arafat in Tunis in 1992 by Prof.Bhim Singh and his team.

The Panthers Party in a resolution demanded that this day should be remembered as ‘Anti-Violence Day’ throughout the country.

Prominent among those who participated Rajiv Jolly Khosla, Y.P. Dogra, Romesh Khajuria, Balwinder Khosla, Sunita Chaudhary, Om Kishan, Anil Sharma, Dildar Hussain Baig and others.