J&K Governor urged for urgent ordinance on Jammu Migrants, Delimitation

In a special communication to Shri N.N. Vohra, the Governor of J&K, NPP Supremo has pressed for a special ordinance to hold delimitation of the Assembly constituencies in J&K which has been deprived to J&K for the past quarter of a century.

He told the Governor that J&K was the only state in India where delimitation was not held in spite of the fact that delimitation of the Districts, Blocks and Tehsils was held in 2006 only to please the power hungry leadership of the Kashmir Valley. He pointed out that 10 additional districts were created in utter infringement of Wazir Commission. In fact, Kashmir was dissected into negligible areas. He further expressed deep concern that in J&K, a single Assembly constituency falls in two or even three districts e.g. Gool-Arnas Assembly constituency falls in Ramban and Reasi Districts, Inderwal Assembly constituency falls in Kishtwar and Doda Districts. Hiranagar Assembly constituency falls in Samba and Kathua Districts. Same is the case with several Assembly constituencies in the Valley. On the other hand there is a grave discrimination in geographical adjustments of the areas e.g. Zanskar (Ladakh) Assembly constituency has been tagged with four patwars of Kargil only to reduce Buddhist majority in the constituency. To hit Pahari fraternity, Tangdhar (Karnah) has been tagged with Keran in Kupwara district when Keran area remains cut off for six months from Karnah because of the snowfall and there is no geographical affinity of the two sectors. To reduce Chenani constituency into a SC (reserved) majority, four patwars of District Reasi have been tagged with Chenani (Udhampur District), 50 kms. gap between the two sectors similarly Jathana in Kathua District (a frozen Iceland) has been tagged with Billawar, nearly 100 kms. away from Billawar and there is no contiguity or geographical affinity of two areas. He pointed out several other deficiencies which were caused by the national government and a perfect understanding among the Kashmiri leadership only for the purpose of playing fraud with the people and keeping them deprived of their genuine electoral right.

Prof.Bhim Singh regretted that Mufti Mohd. Sayeed through signed CMP with Congress and Panthers in 2002 to hold delimitation but Mr. Mufti joined hand with National Conference to keep J&K out of delimitation process.

Besides, seven constituencies in J&K are reserved for SC and all the seven are in Jammu Pradesh. These constituencies have been reserved since 1996 and there is no hope even to consider any change till after the census shall be held in 2031. He blamed the Congress, National Conference, PDP and BJP for this discrimination with the people. He regretted that the Supreme Court failed to appreciate when the JKNPP moved a writ petition for delimitation. He said the BJP’s role against Jammu was the same as that of Kashmiri leadership.

He said that Scheduled Tribes have remained worst sufferers because of a stop on delimitation. No political reservation has been given to them in spite of the fact that Gujjars, Bakerwals, Gaddies etc. were brought in the Schedule of Scheduled Castes by Prime Minister, Chander Shekhar on the petition of the Panthers Party in the nineties yet they have not been given any political reservation till today only because Kashmiri leadership as well as BJP are against this kind of reservation for different reasons.

Prof.Bhim Singh said that the Governor is fully competent to issue ordinance in this regard within the meaning of scope of J&K Constitution. He also urged the Governor to release a payment of Rs.21 crores in favour of Jammu Migrants as per affidavit filed by J&K government before the Supreme Court in 2006 that arrears of Talwara and other Jammu Migrants to the tune of Rs.21 crores were still pending. Those arrears have not been cleared. He demanded that all Jammu Migrants registered as such should be given the same relief in cash and kind which is being given to the Kashmiri migrants as per direction of the High Court of J&K on writ petition of JKNPP.