Legendary Dogra Ratan Capt. Diwan Singh is no more, JKNPP condoles sad demise

J&K National Panthers Party expressed deep shock on the sad demise of Legendary Dogra Ratan, Capt. Diwan Singh, who passed away this morning at his Jammu residence closed to Amar Mahal where Maharaja Hari Singh spent his last days. The JKNPP executive in emergency meeting expressed condolences to the family of Capt. Diwan Singh who spent nearly 14 years of his life with exiled Maharaja Hari Singh. The Panthers Party executive prayed peace in the heavens for the departed soul.


Capt. Diwan Signh

Another condolence meeting was held in New Delhi under the Chairmanship of Prof.Bhim Singh which paid rich tributes to Capt. Diwan Singh and praised his historic sacrifice and contributions to the cause of Dograsthegreat. NPP Supremo said that it was Capt. Diwan Singh who sacrificed his future in 1949 and offered his lifelong services to Maharaja Hari Singh when later was exiled by Govt. of Sheikh Abdullah with the approval of Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru. When Maharaja left Jammu it was only Capt. Diwan Singh who picked his bag and march with Maharaja Hari Singh to Bombay. Maharaja Hari Singh died in May 1961 in Bombay. Capt. Diwan Singh was looking after several charity institutions working in Jammu and elsewhere which were established by Maharaja Hari Singh. One of the noted institutions is Nagwani Secondary School in Jammu where the orphaned children get free education including boarding and lodging according to the will signed by the Maharaja.

Prof.Bhim Singh said that with the loss of Capt. Diwan Singh the Dogras have lost a great patriot and Dogra, that vacuum created in his death shall never be filled in this century. Prof.Bhim Singh added that, “Many have lost a great friend and well-wisher, the Dogras have lost a great legendary character whereas I have lost a great friend, philosopher and an ocean of aspirations.”

            Among those who paid tributes to Capt.Diwan Singh included Mr. Harsh Dev Singh, Balwant Singh Mankotia, Yashpal Kundal, Syed Rafiq Shah, Ms. Anita Thakur, Darshan Singh Jamwal, P.K. Ganjoo, Mohd. Iqbal Choudhary, Bansi Lal Sharma, Pushpinder Manhas, Vilakshan Singh, Gagan Pratap Singh, Virender Thakur, Asha Rani, Neelam Mahajan, Neelam Abrol, Ramesh Kapoor, Paramjit Singh Marshal and others.