National Panthers Party leaders shall pay Tributes to Student Martyrs of 1966

Four Students were martyred during the Congress Govt.o n 17th & 18th October, 1966 who were participating in the students’ movement led by the Students Congress headed by Bhim Singh. The students movement was launched in support of establishment of University, Medical, Engineering, Agriculture, Ayurvedic, Law Colleges etc. Three students namely Brijmohan, Subhash Chandra, Gulshan Handa were martyred right inside the premises of GGM Science College, Jammu. Thousands of students protesting in spite of curfew took out a procession through Kanak Mandi where S. Gurcharan Singh leading the procession was shot and martyred in the street of Rajinder Bazar.
Prof. Bhim Singh, Chief Patron of NPP along with Panthers Party leaders shall pay tributes to the Martyrs at 11:00 a.m. at the Students’ Martyrs Site in front of GGM Science College, Jammu. Shri Harsh Dev Singh MLA, Chairman JKNPP, Sh. Balwant Singh Mankotia MLA, President -JKNPP, Sh. Yashpal Kundal MLA, Gen. Secy., Ms. Anita Thakur, Gen. Secy., H. C. Jalmeria Advocate, Gen. Secy., Bansi Lal Sharma Advisor, Pushvinder Manhas, Sr. Vice-President Young Panthers shall also participate in the ceremony.
The surviving students’ leaders who participated in 1966 students’ movement along with Prof. Bhim Singh shall also participate in the programme which include Shri Sudarshan Singh Jamwal, Vice-President-JKNPP, Sh. Rajinder Singh Manhas, Director Shikayat Markaz-JKNPP, Shri Kamal Gandotra (Retd.) Director, Nehru Yuva Kendra, Mr. Mehta, the then President of Agriculture Students Union, Col. (retd.) Raj Singh Thakur, the then Secy. Student Congress who had suffered bullet injury in his left leg and Shri P.K. Ganjoo.
The programme has been organized by the National Panthers Students Union (NPSU).